The Council welcomes two new members

The Fiscal Council welcomes its two newest Council Members: Dr Adele Bergin and Mr Alessandro Giustiniani. Both bring great experience and insight as economists.

You can read their bios on our ‘About the Council‘ page.

The appointments fill both a pre-existing vacancy as well as a further vacancy that arose when outgoing Council member, Ms Martina Lawless’ term of office came to an end on 31 December 2020. Both members will have a term of four years, with effect from 1 January 2021.

Both members were appointed from a panel of shortlisted candidates set up following an open selection process through the Public Appointments Service held late last year. The selection process for this appointment was undertaken in accordance with the “Guidelines for appointments to State Boards” published by the Government in November 2014. The vacancy was advertised on and managed by the Public Appointments Service.